New Love Languages That You Need To Know

August 7, 2023

Love languages are a powerful tool that can deepen understanding and strengthen relationships. Coined by Gary Chapman in his book “The 5 Love Languages,” they refer to the different ways individuals give and receive love. However, recent trends and studies suggest that there may be additional love languages beyond the original five.


What is Love Language?

Love languages are the ways in which individuals express and receive love. According to eharmony’s trend report predicting the future of sex and dating, 46% of respondents report that the 5 love languages do not encompass the way they express and receive love. A recent study found that the most preferred love language was time (40.8%), followed by touch (40.0%), words (22.7%), service (13.6%), and gifts (4.0%) (Hughes & Camden, 2020).


Do Love Languages Impact Relationships?

Understanding your partner’s love language can significantly enhance communication and emotional connection. Love languages have a profound impact on relationships. They improve communication, enhance emotional connection, aid in conflict resolution, increase satisfaction, and deepen intimacy between partners. By understanding and practicing each other’s love languages, couples can create a stronger and more fulfilling bond.


The 2 New Love Languages

As a result now, our society may have evolved past the standard five love languages Chapman first reported. By that, do you know that there are 2 new love languages?


1. Shared Experiences 

If shared experiences are your love language, you thrive on creating lasting memories with your partner. It goes beyond quality time and focuses on deepening your bond through intentional adventures. You feel loved when your partner puts thought and effort into making those experiences happen. If this is your love language, you may feel closer to your partner after attending events together, enjoy completing tasks as a team, prefer to have company in everything you do, feel closest when making new memories, and prefer being actively engaged with your partner.


2. Emotional Security

If your love language is emotional security, you value deep and meaningful conversations where you feel seen, safe, secure, and accepted for being your authentic self. You enjoy delving into the “whys” behind the surface level and connecting on a deeper level with your partner. Signs that emotional security might be your love language include asking a lot of questions, feeling closest when your partner shares their fears and dreams, being a deep thinker and curious listener, wearing your heart on your sleeve, and embracing challenging conversations.


While the original five love languages are widely known, new love languages have emerged as our society continues to change. Recognizing and understanding these new love languages can lead to stronger, more fulfilling relationships. By incorporating shared experiences and emotional security into our understanding of love languages, we can deepen our connection with our partners and create lasting bonds based on mutual understanding and fulfillment.

You May Also Like

Share This